According to the archaeologist Robert Forrer and the painter and writer Charles Spindler, the houses in Les Rochers date back to the Middle Ages. At that time, the houses were used as granaries by the Benedictine abbey, which was established in the heart of the village.
Later, during the 17th century and after the departure of the nuns, when wars hit the region, the houses were transformed into makeshift dwellings by the inhabitants who sought protection. Then, during the 18th century, they became real dwellings. The site was inhabited until the middle of the 20th century by three families, the last inhabitant having lived there until her death in 1958.
Surrounded by dense forests and dominated by high cliffs, the hamlet of Graufthal has an original face, made even more unique by the presence of these three semi-troglodytic houses. Today, the houses of the Rochers have been restored and fitted out with period furniture in order to receive the public.
A visit to these picturesque dwellings, which are rare in Alsace, allows visitors to discover the daily life of the last families who lived there. The visitor can thus imagine the life of the occupants of these houses at the beginning of the 20th century. The houses of Les Rochers have been classified as historical monuments since 1988.
à partir du 18 mars : du lundi au samedi: de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h (de 10h à 18h en continu en juillet/août)
Dimanches et jours fériés : de 10h à 18h30
Fermeture à 17h à partir du dernier dimanche d'octobre
Public priceAdult : €3.00
Kid : Free
Price with the passAdult : Free
Kid : Free
Motorway A4: exit "Phalsbourg
Nationale 4 : Direction "La Petite-Pierre" between Col de Saverne and Danne-et-Quatre-Vents
Saverne SNCF station at 17 Km
Sarrebourg SNCF station at 26 Km